United States of America


Washington, D.C.

Official language (s)



9.826.675 km2



Ethnic groups

72,4% - White
12,6% - African American
4,8% - Asian
0,9% - American Indian and Alaska Native
0,2% - Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander
6,2% - other 

Major cities
(with population)

New York City (metropolitan area) - 19.015.900
Los Angeles (metropolitan area) - 12.944.801
Chicago (metropolitan area) - 9.504.753
Dallas (metropolitan area) - 6.526.548
Houston (metropolitan area) - 6.086.538
Philadelphia (metropolitan area) - 5.992.414
Washington, D.C. (metropolitan area) - 5.703.948
Miami (metropolitan area) - 5.670.125
Atlanta (metropolitan area) - 5.359.205
Boston (metropolitan area) - 4.591.112

Currency (-ies)

United States dollar (USD), subdivided into 100 cents

Main religion (s)

51,3% - Protestant
23,9% - Roman Catholic
1,7% - Jewish
0,7% - Buddhist
0,6% - Muslim
0,4% - Hindu
0,3% - Unitarian Universalism

Time zone (s)

GTM − 05 to GTM − 10

Dialing code



The United States has a varied climate with conditions characteristic of temperate deserts to arctic. In general, the eastern seaboard has a continental climate due to the masses of air moving principally from west to east, except for Florida where the winters are the warmest in Continental USA and summers are hot with tornadoes common in the Mississippi River region. Central USA has a continental climate with extreme variations in temperature. Winters are usually cold with frequent blizzards while summers are hot and subject to tornadoes with conditions semiarid to the west and humid to the east. Coastal California has a warm Mediterranean climate while the Pacific Northwest Coast has a maritime climate influenced by the prevailing westerlies with cool summers and mild winters.
Average temperature ranges in Washington DC are from −3 to 6°C (27 to 43°F) in January to 20 to 31°C (68 to 88°F) in July.

Administrative division

The United States is a federal union of fifty states. States are further subdivided into counties or county-equivalents, which may or may not be assigned some individual governmental authority. Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia use the official title of Commonwealth rather than State.

Major airports

New York: John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)
Los Angeles: Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Chicago: O'Hare International Airport (ORD)
Atlanta: Hartsfield Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL)
Dallas/Fort Worth: Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW)
Denver: Denver International Airport (DEN)
Houston: George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH)
San Francisco: San Francisco International Airport (SFO)
Las Vegas: McCarran International Airport (LAS)
Phoenix: Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.