United Kingdom


United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland



Official language (s)

Irish, Scottish Gaelic, Scots and Ulster Scots, Welsh, Cornish are recognized regional languages.


243.610 km2



Ethnic groups

92,1% - White
4,0% - South Asian
2,0% - African Descent
1,2% - Mixed
0,4% - Chinese
0,4% - Other 

Major cities
(with population)

Greater London Urban Area - 8.278.251
West Midlands Urban Area - 2.284.093
Greater Manchester Urban Area - 2.240.230
West Yorkshire Urban Area - 1.499.465
Greater Glasgow - 1.199.629
Tyneside - 879.996
Liverpool Urban Area - 816.216
Nottingham Urban Area - 666.358
Sheffield Urban Area - 640.720
Belfast Metropolitan Urban Area - 579.554

Currency (-ies)

Pound sterling (GBP), subdivided into 100 pence

Main religion (s)

71,6% - Christian (Anglican, Roman Catholic, Presbyterian, Methodist)
2,7% - Muslim
1% - Hindu
0,6% - Sikh
0,5% - Jewish
0,3% - Buddhist

Time zone (s)

GTM + 00

Dialing code



The United Kingdom has a temperate climate, with plentiful rainfall all year round. The temperature varies with the seasons seldom dropping below −11°C (12°F) or rising above 35°C (95°F).
Atlantic currents, warmed by the Gulf Stream, bring mild winters. Summers are warmest in the south-east of England, being closest to the European mainland, and coolest in the north.
Average temperature ranges in London are from 2 to 6°C (36 to 43°F) in January to 13 to 22°C (55 to 72°F) in July.

Administrative division

Each country of the United Kingdom has its own system of administrative and geographic demarcation.

The upper-tier subdivisions of England are the nine Government office regions or European Union government office regions. Below the region level England has either county councils and district councils or unitary authorities and London which consists of 32 London boroughs.

Local government in Scotland is divided on a basis of 32 council areas, with wide variation in both size and population. The cities of Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dundee are separate council areas as is the Highland Council which includes a third of Scotland's area but just over 200.000 people.

Local government in Wales consists of 22 unitary authorities. These include the cities of Cardiff, Swansea and Newport which are unitary authorities in their own right.

Local government in Northern Ireland is organized into 26 district councils.

Major airports

London: London Heathrow Airport (LHR), London Gatwick Airport (LGW), London Stansted Airport (STN), London Luton Airport (LTN)
Manchester: Manchester Airport (MAN)
Edinburgh: Edinburgh Airport (EDI)
Birmingham: Birmingham Airport (BHX)
Glasgow: Glasgow International Airport (GLA)
Bristol: Bristol International Airport (BRS)
Liverpool: Liverpool John Lennon Airport (LPL)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.