Republic of Turkey



Official language (s)



783.562 km2



Ethnic groups

76% - Turk
15,7% - Kurd
8,3% - other

Major cities
(with population)

Istanbul - 13.301.345
Ankara - 4.338.620
İzmir - 2.783.866
Bursa - 1.704.441
Adana - 1.609.790
Gaziantep - 1.376.352
Konya - 1.073.791
Antalya - 964.886
Diyarbakır - 875.069
Mersin - 859.680 

Currency (-ies)

Turkish lira (TRY), subdivided into 100 kurus 

Main religion (s)

96,1% - Muslim
0,6% - Christian
3,2% - irreligious

Time zone (s)

GTM + 02

Dialing code



The coastal areas of Turkey bordering the Aegean Sea and the Mediterranean Sea have a temperate Mediterranean climate, with hot, dry summers and mild to cool, wet winters.
The coastal areas of Turkey bordering the Black Sea have a temperate Oceanic climate with warm, wet summers and cool to cold, wet winters.
The coastal areas of Turkey bordering the Sea of Marmara (including Istanbul), which connects the Aegean Sea and the Black Sea, have a transitional climate between a temperate Mediterranean climate and a temperate Oceanic climate with warm to hot, moderately dry summers and cool to cold, wet winters.
Anatolian plateau of the interior of Turkey has a continental climate with sharply contrasting seasons. Winters on the plateau are especially severe, and summers are hot and dry, with temperatures generally above 30°C (86°F) in the day.
Average temperature ranges in Ankara are from −4 to 4°C (25 to 39°F) in January to 15 to 31°C (59 to 88°F) in August.

Administrative division

The territory of Turkey is subdivided into 81 provinces for administrative purposes. The provinces are organized into 7 regions for census purposes; however, they do not represent an administrative structure. Each province is divided into districts, for a total of 923 districts. 

Major airports

Istanbul: Ataturk International Airport (IST), Sabiha Gokcen International Airport (SAW)
Antalya: Antalya Airport (AYT)
Ankara: Esenboga International Airport (ESB)
Izmir: Adnan Menderes Airport (ADB)
Mugla/Dalaman: Dalaman Airport (DLM)
Mugla/Bodrum: Milas-Bodrum Airport (BJV)
Adana: Adana Sakirpasa Airport (ADA)
Tranzon: Trabzon Airport (TZX)
Diyarbakir: Diyarbakir Airport (DIY)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.