Republic of Tunisia



Official language (s)

French is still widely used for commerce and government purposes


164.150 km2



Ethnic groups

98% - Arab-Berber
1% - European
1% - Jewish and other

Major cities
(with population)

Tunis - 983.861
Sfax - 855.256
Kairouan - 546.209
Sousse - 544.413
Ettadhamen - 422.246
Gabes - 342.630
Bizerte - 114.371

Currency (-ies)

Tunisian dinar (TND) subdivided into 1000 milimes

Main religion (s)

98% - Muslim
1% - Christian
1% - Jewish and other

Time zone (s)

GTM + 01

Dialing code



Tunisia has a Mediterranean climate modified by sea breezes and characterized by warm dry summers and wet winters. The terrain in the north is mountainous, which, moving south, gives way to a hot, dry central plain. The south is semiarid, and merges into the Sahara.
Average temperature ranges in Tunis are from 6 to 14°C (43 to 57°F) in January to 21 to 33°C (70 to 91°F) in August.

Administrative division

Tunisia is subdivided into 24 governorates. The governorates are divided into 264 districts, and further subdivided into municipalities.

Major airports

Tunis: Tunis - Carthage International Airport (TUN)
Sfax: Sfax - Thyna International Airport (SFA)
Djerba: Djerba - Zarzis International Airport (DJE)
Enfidha: Enfidha - Hammamet International Airport (NBE)
Monastir: Monastir - Habib Bourguiba International Airport (MIR)
Tabarka: Tabarka - 7 Novembre International Airport (TBJ)
Tozeur: Tozeur - Nefta International Airport (TOE)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.