Kingdom of Thailand



Official language (s)



513.120 km2



Ethnic groups

75% - Thai
14% - Chinese
3% - Malay
8% - other

Major cities
(with population)

Bangkok - 5.658.953
Nonthaburi - 260.555
Pak Kret - 168.763
Hat Yai - 157.682
Udon Thani - 141.953
Chiang Mai - 141.361
Nakhon Ratchasima - 138.303
Surat Thani - 127.496
Khon Kaen - 113.754
Nakhon Si Thammarat - 109.353

Currency (-ies)

Baht (THB), subdivided into 100 satang

Main religion (s)

94,6% - Buddhist
4,6% - Muslim
0,7% - Christian

Time zone (s)

GTM + 07

Dialing code



The local climate is tropical and characterized by monsoons. There is a rainy, warm, and cloudy southwest monsoon from mid-May to September, as well as a dry, cool northeast monsoon from November to mid-March. The southern isthmus is always hot and humid.
Average temperature ranges in Bangkok are from 20°C (68°F) in December to 35°C (95°F) in April.

Administrative division

Thailand is divided into 76 provinces (changwat), which are gathered into 5 groups of provinces by location. There are also 2 special governed districts: the capital Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon) and Pattaya. Each province is divided into districts and the districts are further divided into sub-districts (tambons).

Major airports

Bangkok: Suvarnabhumi Airport (BKK), Don Mueang Airport (DMK)
Phuket: Phuket Airport (HKT)
Chiang Mai: Chiang Mai Airport (CNX)
Hat Yai: Hat Yai Airport (HDY)
Ko Samui: Samui Airport (USM)
Udon Thani: Udon Thani Airport (UTH)
Krabi: Krabi Airport (KBV)
Chiang Rai: Mae Fah Luang-Chiang Rai Airport (CEI)
Surat Thani: Surat Thani Airport (URT)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.