Kingdom of Spain



Official language (s)

Basque, Catalan and Galician are recognized regional languages.


505.992 km2



Ethnic groups

74,4% - Castilian Spanish
16,9% - Catalan
6,4% - Galician
1,6% - Basque
0,7% - other

Major cities
(with population)

Madrid - 3.213.271 (Madrid Metropolitan Area - 6.501.717)
Barcelona - 1.621.537 (Barcelona Metropolitan Area - 5.511.147)
Valencia - 814.208 (Valencia Metropolitan Area - 2.575.362)
Seville - 703.206
Zaragoza - 674.317
Malaga - 568.305
Murcia - 436.870
Palma - 401.270
Las Palmas - 381.847
Bilbao - 354.860

Currency (-ies)

Euro (EUR), subdivided into 100 cents (eurocents) 

Main religion (s)

73,2% - Roman Catholic
22,2% - irreligious

Time zone (s)

GTM + 01

Dialing code



Spain, besides it's mainland, also includes the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean and a number of uninhabited islands on the Mediterranean side of the Strait of Gibraltar.
The climate of Spain (mainland) varies across the country. Three main climatic zones can be distinguished:
1) the Mediterranean climate is characterized by dry and warm summers and cool and wet winters;
2) the oceanic climate is located in the northern part of the country, especially in the regions of Basque Country, Asturias, Cantabria and partly Galicia;
3) the semiarid climate  is located in the south eastern part of the country, especially in the region of Murcia and in the Ebro valley. In contrast to the Mediterranean climate, the dry season continues beyond the end of summer.
Apart from the three main climate zones, other sub-zones can be found, such as the alpine climate in the Pyrenees and Sierra Nevada, and a typical subtropical climate in the Canary Islands. The Canary Islands have a subtropical climate in terms of temperature, this being mild and stable (18°C/64.4°F to 24°C/75.2°F) throughout the year.
Average temperature ranges in Madrid are from 1 to 8°C (34 to 46°F) in January to 17 to 31°C (63 to 88°F) in July.

Administrative division

The Spanish State is integrated by 17 autonomous communities and 2 autonomous cities. Autonomous communities are the first level administrative division in the country. Autonomous communities are subdivided into provinces (provincias), in turn, provinces are integrated by municipalities (municipios).
In Catalonia, two additional divisions exist, the comarques and the vegueries both of which have administrative powers; comarques being aggregations of municipalities, and the vegueries being aggregations of comarques.

Major airports

Madrid: Madrid-Barajas Airport (MAD)
Barcelona: Barcelona El Prat Airport (BCN)
Majorca: Palma de Mallorca Airport (PMI)
Malaga: Malaga Airport (AGP)
Gran Canaria: Gran Canaria Airport (Las Palmas Airport) (LPA)
Alicante: Alicante Airport (ALC)
Tenerife: Tenerife South Airport (TFS)
Ibiza: Ibiza Airport (IBZ)
Lanzarote: Lanzarote Airport (ACE)
Valencia: Valencia Airport (VLC)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.