South Africa


Republic of South Africa


South Africa has three capital cities:
- Cape Town, the seat of Parliament (legislative capital)
- Pretoria, the seat of the President and Cabinet (administrative capital)
- Bloemfontein, the seat of the Supreme Court of Appeal (judicial capital)

Official language (s)

Constitution, which came into effect on 4 February 1997, recognises 11 official languages, to which it guarantees equal status. These are: Afrikaans (language originated mainly from Dutch), English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa, isiZulu, Sesotho sa Leboa, Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda and Xitsonga.


1.219.912 km2



Ethnic groups

79,5% - African
9,0% - White
9,0% - Coloured
2,5% - Indian / Asian  

Major cities
(with population)

Johannesburg - 1.009.035
Soweto - 858.644
Cape Town - 827.218
Durban - 536.644
Pretoria - 525.387

Currency (-ies)

South African rand (ZAR), subdivided into 100 cents

Main religion (s)

79,8% - Christian
1,5% - Muslim
1,2% - Hinduism
0,2% - Judaism
15% - Atheist

Time zone (s)

GTM + 02

Dialing code



South Africa has the seasons of weather as typical for the southern hemisphere, with the coldest days in July–August. A subtropical location, moderated by ocean on three sides of the country and the altitude of the interior plateau, account for the warm temperate conditions. It's a relatively dry country, with an average annual rainfall of about 464 mm (world average - 860 mm). Western Cape gets most of its rainfall in winter, the rest of the country is generally a summer-rainfall region.

The coldest place in South Africa is Sutherland in the western Roggeveld Mountains, where midwinter temperatures can reach as low as −15°C (5°F). The deep interior has the hottest temperatures. The altitude keeps the average summer temperatures below 30°C (86°F).

Administrative division

South Africa is divided into nine provinces: the Eastern Cape, the Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, the Northern Cape and the Western Cape. The provinces are divided into metropolitan and district municipalities.

Major airports

Johannesburg: OR Tambo International Airport (JNB)
Cape Town: Cape Town International Airport (CPT)
Durban: King Shaka International Airport (DUR)
Port Elizabeth: Port Elizabeth Airport (PLZ)
East London: East London Airport (ELS)
George: P.W. Botha Airport (GRJ)
Bloemfontein: Bloemfontein Airport (BFN)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.