Saudi Arabia


Kingdom of Saudi Arabia



Official language (s)



2.250.000 km2



Ethnic groups

90% - Arab
10% - Afro-Asian

Major cities
(with population)

Riyadh - 6.500.000
Jeddah - 3.900.000
Mecca - 1.800.000
Medina - 1.600.000
Dammam -1.300.000 

Currency (-ies)

Saudi riyal (SAR), subdivided into 100 halalas  

Main religion (s)

97% - Muslim

Time zone (s)

GTM + 03

Dialing code



Except for the south western province of Asir, Saudi Arabia has a desert climate with extremely high day-time temperatures and a sharp temperature drop at night. Average summer temperatures are around 45°C (113°F), but can be as high as 54°C (129.2°F). In the winter the temperature rarely drops below 0°C (32°F). In the spring and autumn the heat is temperate, temperatures average around 29°C (84.2°F). Annual rainfall is extremely low.
The Asir region differs in that it is influenced by the Indian Ocean monsoons, usually occurring between October and March. An average of 300 mm of rainfall occurs during this period, that is about 60% of the annual precipitation. 

Administrative division

Saudi Arabia is divided into 13 provinces. The provinces are further divided into 118 governorates. This number includes the 13 provincial capitals, which have a different status as municipalities. The governorates are further sudivided into sub-governorates.

Major airports

Riyadh: King Khalid International Airport (RUH)
Dammam: King Fahd International Airport (DMM)
Jeddah: King Abdulaziz International Airport (JED)
Medina: Prince Mohammad Bin Abdulaziz International Airport (MED)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.