Republic of the Philippines



Official language (s)

Bikol, Cebuano, Hiligaynon, Ilokano, Pampango, Pangasinense, Tagalog, Waray are rezognized regional languages.


299.764 km2



Ethnic groups

92% - Malayo-Polynesian
5% - Chinese
2% - others (mostly White) 

Major cities
(with population)

Quezon City - 2.761.720
Manila - 1.652.171
Caloocan - 1.489.040
Davao City - 1.449.296
Cebu City - 866.171

Currency (-ies)

Philippine peso (Piso) (PHP), subdivided into 100 sentimo 

Main religion (s)

80,9% - Roman Catholic
5% - Muslim
2,8% - Evangelical
2,3% - Iglesia ni Cristo
2% - Aglipayan
4,5% - other Christian

Time zone (s)

GTM + 08

Dialing code



The Philippines has a tropical maritime climate and is usually hot and humid. There are three seasons: the hot dry season or summer from March to May, the rainy season from June to November and the cool dry season from December to February. The southwest monsoon (from May to October) is known as the Habagat, and the dry winds of the northeast monsoon (from November to April), the Amihan.
Temperatures usually range from 21°C (70°F) to 32°C (90°F) although it can get cooler or hotter depending on the season. The coolest month is January; the warmest is May.  The average yearly temperature is around 26.6°C (79.88°F).

Administrative division

The Philippines is divided into three island groups: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. These are divided into 17 regions, 80 provinces, 138 cities, 1.496 municipalities and 42.025 barangays

Major airports

Manila: Ninoy Aquino International Airport (MNL)
Cebu: Mactan-Cebu International Airport (CEB)
Davao: Francisco Bangoy International Airport (DVO)
Iloilo: Iloilo International Airport (ILO)
Cagayan de Oro: Lumbia Airport (CGY)
Bacolod: Bacolod-Silay International Airport (BCD)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.