Republic of Peru



Official language (s)



1.285.216 km2



Ethnic groups

45% - Amerindian
36% - Mestizo
15% - White
3% - other (Asian & African) 

Major cities
(with population)

Lima - 7.870.000
Arequipa - 904.000
Trujillo - 820.000
Chiclayo - 634.000
Huancayo - 430.659
Iquitos - 426.000

Currency (-ies)

Nuevo sol (PEN), subdivided into 100 centimos 

Main religion (s)

81,3% - Roman Catholic
12,5% - Evangelical

Time zone (s)

GTM − 05  

Dialing code



Peru, unlike other equatorial countries, does not have an exclusively tropical climate; the influence of the Andes and the Humboldt Current cause great climatic diversity within the country. The coast has moderate temperatures, low precipitations, and high humidity, except for its warmer, wetter northern reaches.  In the sierra (mountain region), rain is frequent during summer, and temperature and humidity diminish with altitude up to the frozen peaks of the Andes. The selva (rainforests) is characterized by heavy rainfall and high temperatures, except for its southernmost part, which has cold winters and seasonal rainfall.
Average temperature ranges in Lima are from 13 to 19°C (55 to 66°F) in August to 19 to 28°C (66 to 82°F) in February.

Administrative division

Peru is divided into 25 regions and the province of Lima.  

Major airports

Lima: Jorge Chavez International Airport (LIM)
Arequipa: Rodriguez Ballon International Airport (AQP)
Cusco: Alejandro Velasco Astete International Airport (CUZ)
Iquitos: Coronel FAP Francisco Secada Vignetta International Airport (IQT)
Piura: Capitan FAP Guillermo Concha Iberico International Airport (PIU)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.