Kingdom of Norway



Official language (s)

Northern Sami, Lule Sami, Kven and Southern Sami are recognized regional languages.


385.252 km2



Ethnic groups

86,2% - Norwegians
2% - Sami
11,8% - other 

Major cities
(with population)

Oslo - 906.681
Bergen - 235.046
Stavanger/Sandnes - 197.852
Trondheim - 164.953
Fredrikstad/Sarpsborg - 104.382

Currency (-ies)

Norwegian krone (NOK), subdivided into 100 ore 

Main religion (s)

79,4% - Evangelical Lutheran
2,9% - other Christian
2,1% - Muslim

Time zone (s)

GTM + 01

Dialing code



The southern and western parts of Norway experience more precipitation and have milder winters than the southeastern part. The lowlands around Oslo have the warmest and sunniest summers but also cold weather and snow in wintertime (especially inland).
Average temperature ranges in Oslo are from –7 to –2°C (19 to 28°F) in January to 13 to 22 °C (55 to 72°F) in July.

Administrative division

Norway is divided into nineteen first-level administrative counties (fylker). The counties are then sub-divided into 430 second-level municipalities (kommuner). The capital of Oslo is considered both a county and a municipality. Norway also has two integral overseas territories, Jan Mayen and Svalbard.

Major airports

Oslo: Oslo Airport, Gardermoen (OSL)
Bergen: Bergen Airport, Flesland (BGO)
Stavanger: Stavanger Airport, Sola (SVG)
Trondheim: Trondheim Airport, Vernes (TRD)
Tromso: Tromso Airport, Langnes (TOS)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.