Republic of Nicaragua



Official language (s)

Miskito, Rama, Sumo, Miskito Coastal Creole, Garifuna, Rama Cay Creole are recognized regional languages.


130.373 km2



Ethnic groups

69% - Mestizo
17% - White
5% - Amerindian
9% - African Descent 

Major cities
(with population)

Managua - 973.087
Leon - 144.538
Masaya - 130.113
Tipitapa - 127.153
Chinandega - 126.387

Currency (-ies)

Cordoba (NIO), subdivided into 100 centavos 

Main religion (s)

58,5% - Roman Catholic
21,6% - Evangelical
1,6% - Moravian
15,7% - irreligious

Time zone (s)

GTM – 06

Dialing code



Nicaragua has three distinct geographical regions: the Pacific lowlands, North-central highlands and the Atlantic lowlands.
At most of the Pacific zone temperatures remain virtually constant throughout the year, with highs ranging between 29.4 and 32.2°C (85 and 90°F). After a dry season lasting from November to April, rains begin in May and continue to October.
The highlands enjoy mild temperatures with daily highs of23.9 to 26.7°C (75 to 80°F). This region has a longer, wetter rainy season than the Pacific lowlands.
The climate in the Atlantic lowlands is predominantly tropical, with high temperature and high humidity.
Average temperature ranges in Managua are from 20°C (68°F) to 44°C (93°F) all year.

Administrative division

Nicaragua is divided into 15 departments (departamentos) and two self-governing regions (autonomous communities). The departments are then subdivided into 153 municipalities (municipios).  

Major airports

Managua: Augusto C. Sandino International Airport (MGA)
Bluefields: Bluefields Airport (BEF)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.