New Zealand


New Zealand



Official language (s)

NZ Sign Language


268.021 km2



Ethnic groups

78% - European/other
14,6% - Maori
9,2% - Asian
6,9% - Pacific Islander

Major cities
(with population)

Auckland - 1.377.200
Wellington - 393.400
Christchurch - 380.900
Hamilton - 206.400
Napier-Hastings - 124.80

Currency (-ies)

New Zealand dollar (NZD), subdivided into 100 cents

Main religion (s)

14,7% - Anglican
13,4% - Roman Catholic
10,6% - Presbyterian, Congregational and Reformed
3,2% - Methodist
2,1% - Pentecostal
1,7% - Hindu
1,5% - Baptist
1,4% - Buddhist
34,3% - irreligious

Time zone (s)

GTM + 12

Dialing code



New Zealand has a mild and temperate maritime climate with mean annual temperatures ranging from 10°C (50°F) in the south to 16°C (61°F) in the north.Conditions vary sharply across regions from extremely wet on the West Coast of the South Island to almost semi-arid in Central Otago and the Mackenzie Basin of inland Canterbury and subtropical in Northland.
The southern and south-western parts of the South Island have a cooler and cloudier climate; the northern and north-eastern parts of the South Island are the sunniest areas of the country.
Average temperature ranges in Wellington are from 6 to 12°C (43 to 54°F) in July to 13 to 21°C (55 to 70°F) in January.

Administrative division

The system of local government in New Zealand consists of two tiers:
1) the 16 regions of New Zealand; and
2) the 67 territorial authorities of New Zealand, consisting of 13 city councils, 53 district councils, and the Chatham Islands Council.

Major airports

Auckland: Auckland Airport (AKL)
Blenheim: Blenheim Airport (Woodbourne) (BHE)
Chatham Islands: Chatham Islands / Tuuta Airport (CHT)
Christchurch: Christchurch International Airport (CHC)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.