Kuala Lumpur

Official language (s)



329.847 km2



Ethnic groups

50,4% - Malay
23,7% - Chinese
11,0% - Indigenous
7,1% - Indian
7,8% - other 

Major cities
(with population)

Kuala Lumpur - 1.674.621
Johor Bahru - 1.386.569
Kajang - 795.522
Ipoh - 767.794
Klang - 744.062

Currency (-ies)

Ringgit (MYR), subdivided into 100 sen (cents) 

Main religion (s)

61,3% - Muslim
19,8% - Buddhism
9,2% - Christian
6,3% - Hinduism

Time zone (s)

GTM + 08

Dialing code



Malaysia's climate is categorised as equatorial, being hot and humid throughout the year. The average temperature is 27°C (80.6°F). The climates of the Peninsula and the East differ, as the climate on the peninsula is directly affected by wind from the mainland, as opposed to the more maritime weather of the East.
Malaysia faces two monsoon winds seasons, the Southwest Monsoon from late May to September, and the Northeast Monsoon from November to March.
Local climates are affected by the presence of mountain ranges throughout Malaysia, and climate can be divided into that of the highlands, the lowlands, and coastal regions. The coasts have a sunny climate, with temperatures ranging between 23°C (73.4°F) and 32°C (89.6°F).
The lowlands have a similar temperature, but follow a more distinctive rainfall pattern and show very high humidity levels. The highlands are cooler and wetter, and display a greater temperature variation.

Administrative division

Malaysia is a federation of 13 states and three federal territories. These are divided between two regions, with 11 states and two federal territories on Peninsular Malaysia and the other two states and one federal territory in East Malaysia.  

Major airports

Kuala Lumpur: Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KUL)
Kota Kinabalu: Kota Kinabalu International Airport (BKI)
George Town: Penang International Airport (PEN)
Kuching: Kuching International Airport (KCH)
Miri: Miri Airport (MYY)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.