Official language (s)

Aynu itak, Ryukyuan languages, Eastern Japanese, Western Japanese and several other Japanese dialects are recognized regional languages.


377.944 km2



Ethnic groups

98,5% - Japanese
0,5% - Korean
0,4% - Chinese
0,6% - other

Major cities
(with population)

Tokyo - 8.949.447
Yokohama - 3.689.603
Osaka - 2.666.371
Nagoya - 2.263.907
Sapporo - 1.914.434
Kobe - 1.544.873
Kyoto - 1.474.473
Fukuoka - 1.463.826
Kawasaki - 1.425.678
Saitama - 1.222.910

Currency (-ies)

Yen (JPY), subdivided into 100 sen and 1000 rin

Main religion (s)

83,9% - Shintoism 
71,4% - Buddhism
2% - Christianity
7,8% - other
Note: total adherents exceeds 100% because many people belong to both Shintoism and Buddhism

Time zone (s) 

GTM + 09

Dialing code



The climate of Japan is predominantly temperate, but varies greatly from north to south. Japan's geographical features divide it into six principal climatic zones: Hokkaido, Sea of Japan, Central Highland, Seto Inland Sea, Pacific Ocean, and Ryukyu Islands.
The northernmost zone, Hokkaido, has a humid continental climate with long, cold winters and very warm to cool summers.
In the Sea of Japan zone on Honshu's west coast, northwest winter winds bring heavy snowfall. In the summer, the region is cooler than the Pacific area, though it sometimes experiences extremely hot temperatures because of the foehn wind. The Central Highland has a typical inland humid continental climate, with large temperature differences between summer and winter, and between day and night; precipitation is light, though winters are usually snowy.
The Pacific coast features a humid subtropical climate that experiences milder winters with occasional snowfall and hot, humid summers because of the southeast seasonal wind. The Ryukyu Islands have a subtropical climate, with warm winters and hot summers.
The average winter temperature in Japan is 5.1°C (41.2°F) and the average summer temperature is 25.2°C (77.4°F).

Administrative division

Japan consists of 47 prefectures. Each prefecture is further divided into cities, towns and villages.

Major airports

Tokyo: Haneda Airport (HND), Narita International Airport (NRT)
Sapporo: New Chitose Airport (CTS)
Fukuoka: Fukuoka Airport (FUK)
Osaka: Osaka International Airport (ITM), Kansai International Airport (KIX)
Naha: Naha Airport (OKA)
Nagoya: Chubu Centrair International Airport (NGO)
Kagoshima: Kagoshima Airport (KOJ)
Kumamoto: Kumamoto Airport (KMJ)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.