Commonwealth of Jamaica



Official language (s)



10.991 km2



Ethnic groups

92% - Black African descent
3,4% - East Indian and Afro-East Indian
3,2% - White
1,2% - Chinese and Afro-Chinese 

Major cities
(with population)

Kingston - 937.700
Portmore - 166.845
Spanish Town - 145.018
Motego Bay - 82.867

Currency (-ies)

Jamaican dollar (JMD), subdivided into 100 cents 

Main religion (s)

18% - Church of God
10% - Baptist
10% - Anglican
5% - Roman Catholic
7% - Seventh Day Adventist
5% - Methodist
5% - Presbyterian 

Time zone (s)

GTM − 05

Dialing code



The climate in Jamaica is tropical, with hot and humid weather, although higher inland regions are more temperate. Jamaica lies in the hurricane belt of the Atlantic Ocean and because of this, the island sometimes experiences significant storm damage.
There are four seasons, two rainy seasons from May to June and September to November as well as two dry seasons from July to August and December to April. The hurricane season is from May to August or September. Average temperature ranges in Kingston are from 19°C (66 °F) to 32°C (99°F) all year. 

Administrative division

Jamaica is divided into 14 parishes, which are grouped into three historic counties that have no administrative relevance. 

Major airports

Kingston:  Norman Manley International Airport (KIN)
Montego Bay: Sangster International Airport (MBJ)
Ocho Rios: Ian Fleming International Airport (OCJ)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.