Islamic Republic of Iran



Official language (s)



1.648.195 km2



Ethnic groups

61% - Persians
16% - Azeris
10% - Kurds
6% - Lurs
2% - Arabs
2% - Baloch
2% - Turkmen and Turkic tribes
1% - other

Major cities
(with population)

Tehran - 8.778.535
Mashhad - 2.567.243
Isfahan - 1.755.382
Karaj - 1.657.967
Tabriz - 1.459.755

Currency (-ies)

Rial (IRR), subdivided into 100 dinar

Main religion (s)

98% - Muslim

Time zone (s)

GTM + 03:30

Dialing code



Iran's climate ranges from arid or semiarid, to subtropical along the Caspian coast and the northern forests. On the northern edge of the country (the Caspian coastal plain) temperatures rarely fall below freezing and the area remains humid for the rest of the year. Summer temperatures rarely exceed 29°C (84.2°F).
To the west, settlements in the Zagros basin experience lower temperatures, severe winters with below zero average daily temperatures and heavy snowfall. The eastern and central basins are arid, with less than 200 mm (7.9 in) of rain, and have occasional deserts. Average summer temperatures exceed 38°C (100.4°F).
The coastal plains of the Persian Gulf and Gulf of Oman in southern Iran have mild winters, and very humid and hot summers.
Average temperature ranges in Tehran are from -3 to 7°C (27 to 45°F) in January to 22 to 37°C (72 to 99°F) in July.

Administrative division

Iran is divided into thirty one provinces. The provinces are divided into counties (shahrestan), and subdivided into districts (bakhsh) and sub-districts (dehestan).

Major airports

Tehran: Mehrabad International Airport (THR), Imam Khomeini International Airport (IKA)
Mashhad: Mashhad International Airport (MHD)
Shiraz: Shiraz International Airport (SYZ)
Ahvaz: Ahwaz International Airport (AWZ)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.