Republic of Indonesia



Official language (s)



1.904.569 km2



Ethnic groups

40,6% - Javanese
15% - Sundanese
3,3% - Madurese
2,7% - Minangkabau
2,4% - Betawi
2,4% - Bugis
2% - Banten
1,7% - Banjar
29,9% - other or unspecified

Major cities
(with population)

Jakarta - 9.607.787
Surabaya - 2.765.487
Bandung - 2.394.873
Bekasi - 2.334.871
Medan - 2.029.797

Currency (-ies)

Rupiah (IDR), subdivided into 100 sen

Main religion (s)

87,18% - Muslim
6,96% - Protestant
2,91% - Catholic
1,69% - Hindu
0,72% - Buddhist

Time zone (s)

GTM + 07 to GTM + 09

Dialing code



Indonesia is an archipelago comprising approximately 17,508 islands. The climate of Indonesia is almost entirely tropical. The uniformly warm waters that make up 81% of Indonesia's area ensure that temperatures on land remain fairly constant, with the coastal plains averaging 28°C, the inland and mountain areas averaging 26°C, and the higher mountain regions, 23°C. Temperature varies little from season to season. 
Average annual temperature ranges in Jakarta are from 23°C(73°F) to 33°C (91°F) all year.

Administrative division

Indonesia consists of 33 provinces, five of which have special status. The provinces are subdivided into regencies (kabupaten) and cities (kota), which are further subdivided into districts (kecamatan), and again into village groupings (either desa or kelurahan). Furthermore, a village is divided into several citizen-groups (Rukun-Warga (RW)) which are further divided into several neighbourhood-groups (Rukun-Tetangga (RT)).

Major airports

Jakarta: Soekarno–Hatta International Airport (CGK)
Surabaya: Juanda International Airport (SUB)
Denpasar: Ngurah Rai International Airport (DPS)
Medan: Polonia International Airport (MES)
Palembang: Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II International Airport (PLM)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.