Republic of India



Official language (s)

22 languages are recognized regional languages.


3.287.263 km2


Ethnic groups


Major cities
(with population)

Delhi - 16.753.235
Mumbai - 12.478.447
Bangalore - 8.425.970
Hyderabad - 6.809.970
Pune - 6.115.431
Ahmedabad - 5.570.585
Chennai - 4.681.087
Kolkata - 4.486.679
Surat  - 4.462.003
Jaipur - 3.102.808
Kanpur - 2.767.031

Currency (-ies)

Indian rupee (INR), subdivided into 100 paise

Main religion (s)

80,5% - Hindu
13,4% - Muslim
2,3% - Christian
1,9% - Sikh

Time zone (s)

GTM + 05:30

Dialing code



India has a tropical climate that is dominated by the Asiatic monsoons with four fairly distinct seasons which are common to all six or seven climatic regions. (1.) A relatively cool winter monsoon season. (2.) A hot and rainless transitional season. (3.) A rainy monsoon season and (4.) a humid season. Tropical hurricanes and cyclones are common between April to June and September to December. Average temperature ranges in New Delhi are from 7 to 21°C (45 to 70°F) in January to 26 to 41°C (79 to 106°F) in May.

Administrative division

India is a federation composed of 28 states and 7 union territories. Each state or union territory is further divided into administrative districts. The districts in turn are further divided into tehsils and ultimately into villages.

Major airports

Delhi: Indira Gandhi International Airport (DEL)
Mumbai: Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport (BOM)
Chennai: Chennai International Airport (MAA)
Bangalore: Bengaluru International Airport (BLR)
Kolkatta: Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport (CCU)
Hyderabad: Rajiv Gandhi International Airport (HYD)
Kochi: Cochin International Airport (COK)
Ahmedabad: Sardar Patel International Airport (AMD)
Goa: Dabolim Airport (GOI)
Pune: Lohegaon Airport (PNQ)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.