Republic of Honduras



Official language (s)

English, Garifuna, Miskito and other indigenous languages are recognizes regional languages.


112.492 km2



Ethnic groups

90% - Mestizo mixture of European and American Indian
7% - Amerindian
2% - African
1% - White

Major cities
(with population)

Tegucigalpa - 990.600
San Pedro Sula - 646.300
Choloma - 223.900
La Ceiba - 172.900
El Progreso - 122.000

Currency (-ies)

Lempira (HNL), subdivided into 100 centavos

Main religion (s)

47% - Roman Catholic
36% - Evangelical Protestant

Time zone (s)

GTM – 06

Dialing code



Honduras has a tropical climate on the coast and a temperate climate inland. Both climatic zones have a wet season from April to October and a dry season from November to March. From October to April the northerly winds which are moderately cold, temper the heat while hurricanes are also quite common. Average temperature ranges in Tegucigalpa are from 4 to 27°C (39 to 81°F) in February to 12 to 33°C (54 to 91°F) in May.

Administrative division

Honduras is divided into 18 departments. The capital city is Tegucigalpa in the Central District within the department of Francisco Morazan.

Major airports

Tegucigalpa: Toncontin International Airport (TGU)
San Pedro Sula: Ramon Villeda Morales International Airport (SAP)
La Ceiba: Goloson International Airport (LCE)
Roatan: Juan Manuel Galvez International Airport (RTB)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.