Republic of Estonia



Official language (s)

Swedish is recognized regional language 


45.227 km2



Ethnic groups

69% - Estonians
25,4% - Russians
2,0% - Ukrainians
1,1% - Belarusians
0,8% - Finns
1,6% - others 

Major cities
(with population)

Tallinn - 416.144
Tartu - 101.169
Narva - 65.886
Kohtla-Jarve - 47.679
Parnu - 45.500 

Currency (-ies)

Euro (EUR), subdivided into 100 cents (eurocents) 

Main religion (s)

75,7% - irreligious
14,8% - Evangelical Lutherans  

Time zone (s)

GTM + 02

Dialing code



Estonia lies in the northern part of the temperate climate zone and in the transition zone between maritime and continental climate. Because Estonia (and all of Northern Europe) is continuously warmed by maritime air influenced by the heat content of the northern Atlantic Ocean, it has a milder climate despite its northern latitude. The Baltic Sea causes differences between the climate of coastal and inland areas. Estonia has four seasons of near-equal length. Average temperatures range from 16,3°C (61,3°F) on the Baltic islands to 18,1°C (64,6°F) inland in July, the warmest month, and from −3,5°C (25,7°F) on the Baltic islands to −7,6°C (18,3°F) inland in February, the coldest month.
The average annual temperature in Estonia is 5,2°C (41,4°F). The average temperature in February, the coldest month of the year, is −5,7°C (21,7°F). The average temperature in July, which is considered the warmest month of the year, is 16,4°C (61,5°F). 

Administrative division

Estonia is divided into 15 counties (Maakonnad), which are the administrative subdivisions of the country. Each county is further divided into municipalities (omavalitsus), which is also the smallest administrative subdivision of Estonia. There are two types of municipalities: an urban municipality – linn (town), and a rural municipality – vald (parish).

Major airports

Tallinn: Lennart Meri Tallinn Airport (TLL)
Tartu: Tartu Airport (TAY)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.