Republic of Ecuador



Official language (s)



276.841 (with Galapagos) km2



Ethnic groups

71,9% - Mestizo
7,4% - Montubio
7,2% - Afroecuadorian
7,0% - Amerindian
6,1% - White
0,4% - others 

Major cities
(with population)

Guayaquil - 2.291.158
Quito - 1.619.146
Cuenca - 331.888
Santo Domingo - 305.632
Machala - 241.606

Currency (-ies)

United States dollar (USD), subdivided into 100 cents 

Main religion

95% - Roman Catholic

Time zone (s)

GTM – 05 to GTM – 06 

Dialing code



There is great variety in the climate, largely determined by altitude. It is mild year-round in the mountain valleys; humid subtropical climate in coastal areas and rainforest in lowlands. The Pacific coastal area has a tropical climate, with a severe rainy season. The climate in the Andean highlands is temperate and relatively dry; and the Amazon basin on the eastern side of the mountains shares the climate of other rain forest zones.
Average temperature ranges in Quito are from 8°C (46°F) to 21°C (70°F) all year. 

Administrative division

Ecuador is divided into 24 provinces (provincias), each with its own administrative capital. The provinces are divided into cantons, and further subdivided into parishes (parroquias). 

Major airports

Guayaquil: Jose Joaquin de Olmedo International Airport (GYE)
Quito: Mariscal Sucre International Airport (UIO)
Cuenca: Mariscal Lamar Airport (CUE)
Manta: Eloy Alfaro International Airport (MEC)
Tulcan: Teniente Coronel Luis a Mantilla International Airport (TUA) 

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.