Dominican Republic

Dominican republic flag-36.png

Dominican Republic


Santo Domingo 

Official language (s)



48.442 km2



Ethnic groups

73% - multiracial
16% - white
11% - african 

Major cities
(with population)

Santo Domingo - 3.001.613
Santiago de los Caballeros - 1.972.367
Santo Domingo Norte - 705.983
Santo Domingo Este - 701.269
Santo Domingo Oeste - 693.255
San Luis - 301.062
San Felipe de Puerto Plata - 286.558 

Currency (-ies)

Dominican peso (DOP), subdivided into 100 centavos 

Main religion (s)

68,9% - Roman Catholic
18,2% - Evangelical 

Time zone (s)

GTM – 04  

Dialing code

+1-809, +1-829, +1-849 


The climate of the Dominican Republic is mostly tropical. The wet or rainy season is from May to November in the south and from December to April in the north. Hurricanes can also occur between June and November. In general, rainfall is heaviest in the north and diminishes towards the south and west.
The annual average temperature is 25°C (77°F). At higher elevations, the temperature averages 18°C (64,4°F) while near sea level the average temperature is 28°C (82,4°F). January and February are the coolest months of the year, while August is the hottest month. 

Administrative division

The Dominican Republic is divided into 31 provinces. Santo Domingo, the capital, is designated Distrito Nacional (National District). The provinces are divided into municipalities.

Major airports

Santo Domingo:
- Las Americas-JFPG International Airport (SDQ)
- La Isabela International Airport (JQB)
Santiago de los Caballeros: Cibao International Airport (STI)
Samana: Arroyo Barril International Airport (EPS)
Punta Cana / Higuey: Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)
Puerto Plata: Gregorio Luperon International Airport (POP)
La Romana: La Romana International Airport (LRM)
Sanchez: Samana El Catey International Airport (AZS)
Barahona: Maria Montez International Airport (BRX)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.