Republic of Cuba



Official language (s)



109.884 km2



Ethnic groups

65,1% - White
10,1% - African
24,8% - Mulatto and Mestizo 

Major cities
(with population)

Havana - 2.201.610
Santiago de Cuba - 423.392
Camaguey - 301.574
Holguin - 269.618
Santa Clara - 210.220

Currency (-ies)

Cuban peso (CUP), subdivided into 100 centavos.
Cuban convertible peso (CUC), subdivided into 100 centavos convertibles

Main religion

60% - Roman Catholic

Time zone (s)

GTM – 05

Dialing code



The climate of Cuba is tropical, moderated by northeasterly trade winds that blow year-round. In general (with local variations), there is a drier season from November to April, and a rainier season from May to October. The average temperature is 21°C (69,8 F) in January and 27°C (80,6°F) in July. The warm temperatures of the Caribbean Sea and the fact that Cuba sits across the entrance to the Gulf of Mexico combine to make the country prone to frequent hurricanes. These are most common in September and October.

Administrative division

The country is subdivided into 15 provinces and one special municipality (Isla de la Juventud). The provinces are divided into municipalities.

Major airports

Havana: Jose Marti International Airport (HAV)
Santiago de Cuba: Antonio Maceo Airport (SCU)
Camaguey: Ignacio Agramonte International Airport (CMW)
Holguin: Frank Pais Airport (HOG)
Santa Clara: Abel Santamaria Airport (SNU)
Varadero: Juan Gualberto Gomez Airport (VRA)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.