Republic of Croatia



Official language (s)



56.594 km2



Ethnic groups

89,6% - Croats
4,5% - Serbs
5,9% - others and unspecified  

Major cities
(with population)

Zagreb - 686.568
Split - 165.893
Rijeka - 127.498
Osijek - 83.496
Zadar - 70.674

Currency (-ies)

Croatian kuna (HRK), subdivided into 100 lipa 

Main religion

87,8% - Roman Catholic
4,4% - Orthodox
1,3% - Muslim

Time zone (s)

GTM + 01 

Dialing code



Most of Croatia has a moderately warm and rainy continental climate. Monthly temperature ranges between − 3°C (27°F) (in January) and 18°C (64°F) (in July). The coldest parts of the country are Lika and Gorski Kotar where snowy forested climate is found at elevations above 1.200 meters (3.900 feet). The warmest areas of Croatia are at the Adriatic coast and especially in its immediate hinterland characterized by the Mediterranean climate, as the temperature highs are moderated by the sea.

Administrative division

Croatia is divided into 20 counties and the capital city of Zagreb, the latter having the authority and legal status of a county and a city at the same time. The counties are subdivided into 127 cities and 429 municipalities.

Major airports

Zagreb: Zagreb Airport (ZAG)
Split: Split Airport (SPU)
Rijeka: Rijeka Airport (RJK)
Osijek: Osijek Airport (OSI)
Zadar: Zadar Airport (ZAD)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.