Republic of Colombia



Official language (s)



1.141.748 km2



Ethnic groups

58% - Mestizo
23% - White
14% - Mulatto
4% - Afro Colombian
3% - Zambo
1% - Amerindian 

Major cities
(with population)

Bogota - 9.600.000
Medellín - 3.729.970
Cali - 3.225.580
Barranquilla - 2.185.359
Cartagena de Indias - 1.492.545
Cucuta - 1.358.676
Bucaramanga - 1.276.329
Pereira - 616.512
Ibague - 600.000
Soledad - 561.851

Currency (-ies)

Colombian peso (COP), subdivided into 100 centavos

Main religion

81-90% - Roman Catholic

Time zone (s)

GTM – 05

Dialing code



Colombia has a tropical climate on the coast and a temperate climate on the plateaux. Colombia can be divided into three climatic zones depending on altitude:
(1.) Below 915 metres (300 feet) which is a hot zone and comprises 90% of the land area. Average temperature ranges are from 23,8°C (75°F) to 26,6°C (80°F).
(2.) Between 915 metres (3.000 feet) and 1.980 metres (6.500 feet) which is the temperate zone and comprises only 8% of the land area. Average temperature ranges are from 18,3°C (65°F) to 23,9°C (75°F).
(3.) Over 1.980 metres (6.500 feet) is the cool zone comprising the plateaux and terraces of the Colombian Andes. Average temperate ranges are from 12,7°C (55°F) to -17°C (1,4°F).
In general, there are two main seasons:
(1.) the wet season from March to May and September to November
(2.) the dry season from December to February and June to August, except in the northern plains where there is only one long wet season from May to October.
Average temperature ranges in Bogota are from 10 to 18°C (50 to 64°F) in July to 9 to 20°C (48 to 68°F) in February.

Administrative division

Colombia is divided into 32 departments and one capital district, which is treated as a department (Bogota also serves as the capital of the department of Cundinamarca). Departments are subdivided into municipalities, each of which is assigned a municipal seat, and municipalities are in turn subdivided into corregimientos.
In addition to the capital nine other cities have been designated districts (in effect special municipalities), on the basis of special distinguishing features.
Some departments have local administrative subdivisions, where towns have a large concentration of population and municipalities are near each other.

Major airports

Bogota: El Dorado International Airport (BOG)
- Jose Maria Cordova International Airport (MDE)
- Enrique Olaya Herrera Airport (EOH)

Cali: Alfonso Bonilla Aragon International Airport (CLO)
Cartagena: Rafael Nunez International Airport (CTG)
Barranquilla: Ernesto Cortissoz International Airport (BAQ)
Bucaramanga: Palonegro International Airport (BGA)
Pereira: Matecana International Airport (PEI)
Santa Marta: Simon Bolívar Airport (SMR)
Cucuta: Camilo Daza International Airport (CUC)
San Andres: Gustavo Rojas Pinilla International Airport (ADZ)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.