Republic of Chile



Official language (s)



756.096 km2



Ethnic groups

59% - White
25% - Mestizo
8% - Amerindian
1% - Mulatto
7% - Other  

Major cities
(with population)

Santiago Metropolis - 5.428.590
Greater Concepcion - 803.683
Greater Valparaiso - 666.381
Greater La Serena - 296.253
Antofagasta - 285.255

Currency (-ies)

Chilean peso (CLP), subdivided into 100 centavos

Main religion (s)

70% - Roman Catholic
15% - Protestant
3,3% - Mormon

Time zone (s)

GTM – 04 to GTM – 06

Dialing code



Chile has a variety of climatic conditions ranging from subtropical to temperate and near polar due to its great lengths. Chile can be divided into three climatic zones:
(1.) the north which includes the Atacama Desert which is characterized by arid and dry conditions
(2.) the central region of Chile which has a Mediterranean climate with mild wet winters and long dry summers and
(3.) the south which is cold and wet with prevailing winds of gale intensity.
Rainfall increases from almost nothing in the Atacama Desert in the north to 5.080 mm (200 inches) in the south. Average annual temperature ranges in Santiago are from 3 to 14°C (37 to 57°F) in July to 12 to 29°C (54 to 84°F) in January.

Administrative division

Chile is divided into 15 regions. The regions are further divided into provinces. Finally each province is divided into communes which are administered by municipalities.

Major airports

Santiago: Comodoro Arturo Merino Benitez International Airport (SCL)
Concepcion: Carriel Sur International Airport (CCP)
La Serena: La Florida Airport (LSC)
Antofagasta: Cerro Moreno International Airport (ANF)
Punta Arenas: Presidente Carlos Ibanez International Airport (PUQ)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.