Plurinational State of Bolivia


Sucre (Constitutional Capital)
La Paz (Seat of Government)

Official language (s)

34 other native languages


1.098.581 km2



Ethnic groups

55% - Amerindian (Quechua, Aymara and 34 other ethnic groups)
30% - Mestizo
15% - White 

Major cities
(with population)

Santa Cruz - 1.545.161
El Alto - 907.887
La Paz - 877.363
Cochabamba - 608.276
Sucre - 281.240

Currency (-ies)

Boliviano (BOB), subdivided into 100 cents (centavos)

Main religion

81,6% - Roman Catholic
10,3% - Evangelic

Time zone (s)

GTM – 04

Dialing code



The climate of Bolivia varies drastically from one ecoregion to the other, from the tropics in the eastern llanos to polar climates in the western Andes. The summers are warm, humid in the east and dry in the west, with rains that often modify temperatures, humidity, winds, atmospheric pressure and evaporation, giving place to very different climates. When the climatological phenomenon known asEl Nino takes place, it provokes great alterations in the weather. Winters are very cold in the west, and it snows around the mountain ranges, while in the western regions, windy days are more usual. The autumn is dry in the non-tropical regions.
Llanos. A humid tropical climate with an average temperature of 30°C. The wind coming from the Amazon rainforest causes significant rainfall. Starting in May, there is low precipitation because of dry winds, and most days have clear skies. Even so, winds from the south, called surazos, can bring cooler temperatures lasting several days.
Altiplano. Desert-Polar climates, with strong and cold winds. The average temperature ranges from 15 to 20°C. At night, temperatures descend drastically to slightly above 0°C, while during the day, the weather is dry and solar radiation is high. Ground frosts occur every month, and snow is frequent.
Valleys and Yungas. Temperate climate. The humid northeastern winds are pushed to the mountains, making this region very humid and rainy. Temperatures are cooler at higher elevations. Snow occurs at altitudes of 2000 meters.
Chaco. Subtropical Semi-arid climate. Rain and humidity in January and the rest of the year, with warm days and cool nights.

Administrative division

Bolivia is divided into nine departments, further subdivided into 112 provinces and these ones into 339 municipalities and into native community lands.

Major airports

La Paz/El Alto: El Alto International Airport (LPB)
Santa Cruz: Viru Viru International Airport (VVI)
Cochabamba: Jorge Wilstermann International Airport (CBB)
Sucre: Juana Azurduy de Padilla International Airport (SRE)
Puerto Suarez: Puerto Suárez International Airport (PSZ)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.