Republic of Azerbaijan



Official language (s)



86.600 km2



Ethnic groups

91,60% - Azerbaijani
2,02% - Lezgian
1,35% - Armenian
1,34% - Russian
1,26% - Talysh
2,43% - other

Major cities
(with population)

Baku - 2.064.900
Ganja - 314.600
Sumgait - 312.000
Mingachevir - 97.000

Currency (-ies)

Manat (AZN), subdivided into 100 qapik 

Main religion

93,4% - Muslim

Time zone (s)

GTM + 04 

Dialing code



Azerbaijan is situated on the northern extremity of the subtropical zone, in the southeastern part of the Caucasus and the north-western part of the Iran plateau. The complicated geographical location and landscape, the proximity of the Caspian Sea, the effect of sun's radiation, air masses of different origin, etc., contribute to its climatological diversity.
Azerbaijan's climate varies from an arid subtropical and humid subtropical to a mountainous tundra climate. Average annual precipitation is between 200 to 300 mm (8 to 12 inches) in the lowlands and 300 to 900 mm (12 to 35.5 inches) in the highlands, although precipitation is distributed unevenly throughout the year. On the southern slopes of the Greater Caucasus average annual precipitation ranges from 1.000 to 1.300 mm (39 to 51 inches). Average temperature ranges on the lowlands are from 25 to 27°C (77 to 80°F) in July to 0 to 3°C (32 to 37°F) in January and between -3 to -6°C (27 to 21°F) in January on the highlands. 

Administrative division

Azerbaijan is divided into 10 economic regions; 66 rayons (rayonlar) and 77 cities of which 11 are under the direct authority of the republic. Moreover, Azerbaijan includes the Autonomous Republic (muxtar respublika) of Nakhchivan. 

Major airports

Baku: Heydar Aliyev International Airport (GYD)
Gabala: Qabala International Airport (GBB)
Ganja: Ganja International Airport (KVD)
Nakhchivan: Nakhchivan Airport (NAJ)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.