Republic of Austria



Official language (s)

Recognized national languages – Croatian, Hungarian and Slovenian


83.855 km2



Ethnic groups

91,1% - Austrians
4% - former Yugoslavs
1,6% - Turks
3,3% - others and unspecified 

Major cities
(with population)

Vienna - 1.724.381
Graz - 264.351
Linz - 190.802
Salzburg - 148.236
Innsbruck - 121.076 

Currency (-ies)

Euro (EUR), subdivided into 100 cents (euro cents)

Main religion

64,8% - Roman Catholic
3,8% - Lutheran

Time zone (s)

GTM + 01

Dialing code



Austria's climate is influenced by three climatic systems, (1.) the North Atlantic maritime, (2.) the Mediterranean and (3.) the continental. The country can also be divided into three climatic regions, (1.) the Alps where it is often sunny in winter but cloudy in summer. (2.) The Danube Valley and Vienna Basin, the driest regions where winter snow is rarely deep. (3.) The southeast region which experiences heavy thunderstorms and where winters can be severe, although summers are warmer and sunnier than the Alps region. Winters are generally cold throughout the country and the summer months are often the wettest with heavy rainfall that is also short in duration. Average temperature ranges in Vienna are from -4 to 1°C (25 to 34°F) in January to 15 to 25°C (59 to 77°C) in July. 

Administrative division

As a federal republic, Austria is divided into nine states (Bundeslaender). These states are then divided into districts (Bezirke) and statutory cities (Statutarstaedte). Districts are subdivided into municipalities (Gemeinden).

Major airports

Vienna: Vienna International Airport (Schwechat Airport) (VIE)
Graz: Graz Airport (Thalerhof Airport) (GRZ)
Linz: Linz Airport (Blue Danube Airport) (LNZ)
Salzburg: Salzburg Airport (W. A. Mozart Airport) (SZG)
Innsbruck: Innsbruck Airport (Kranebitten Airport) (INN)
Klagenfurt: Klagenfurt Airport (Woerthersee Airport) (KLU)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.