Commonwealth of Australia



Official language (s)



7.617.930 km2



Ethnic groups

The people of Australia are mainly a mixture of British and Irish ethnic origin.
2,5% - Indigenous population

Major cities
(with population)

Sydney        4.627.345
Melbourne   4.137.432
Brisbane     2.074.222
Perth           1.738.807
Adelaide      1.212.982
Gold Coast-Tweed - 600.475
Newcastle - 552.776
Canberra-Queanbeyan - 417.860

Currency (-ies)

Australian dollar (AUD), subdivided into 100 cents

Main religion

25,8 % - Roman Catholics
18,7 % - Anglican
19,4 % - other Christian denominations

Time zone (s)

GTM + 08 to GTM + 10,5

Dialing code



The climate of Australia varies widely, but by far the largest part of Australia is desert or semi-arid. Only the south-east and south-west corners have a temperate climate and moderately fertile soil. The northern part of the country has a tropical climate, varied between tropical rainforests, grasslands, part desert.
The temperate south has cool, wet winters and warm, dry summers. In the north, a tropical climate prevails with a warm, dry season and a hot, wet season. The extreme north-west experiences the ends of the monsoon systems, while the mountains of the south-east attract seasonal snow to form the Alpine snowfields. The temperatures vary from an average 30°C in midsummer in the Red Centre, to an average of 6°C in the highlands in winter.
The inland deserts can remain totally dry for years whilst rains can produce floods.
Australia can experience hurricanes and cyclones on both coasts mainly on the northeast and northwest while droughts are also common.
Because of its elevation (650 m (2.130 ft)) and distance from the coast, the Australian Capital Territory experiences a continental climate, unlike many other Australian cities whose climates are moderated by the sea. Canberra is notorious for hot, dry summers, and cold winters with occasional fog and frequent frosts.
Average temperature ranges in Sydney are from 8 to 16°C (46 to 61°F) in July to 18 to 26°C (64 to 79°F) in January.

Administrative division

Australia has six states – New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia – and two major mainland territories – the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory (ACT).

Major airports

Sydney: Sydney (Kingsford Smith) Airport (SYD)
Melbourne: Melbourne Airport (MEL)
Brisbane: Brisbane Airport (BNE)
Perth: Perth Airport (PER)
Adelaide: Adelaide AIRPORT (ADL)
Gold Coast: Gold Coast Airport (OOL)
Cairns: Cairns Airport (CNS)
Canberra: Canberra International Airport (CBR)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.