People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria



Official language (s)

Berber is recognized as a national language


2.381.741 km2



Ethnic groups

99% - Arab-Berber
Less than 1% - European

Major cities
(with population)

Algiers - 4.988.145
Oran - 1.224.540
Constantine - 943.112
Setif - 609.499
Annaba - 317.206

Currency (-ies)

Algerian dinar (DZD), subdivided into 100 santeem

Main religion (s)

~99% - Muslim

Time zone (s)

GTM + 01

Dialing code



The climate of Algeria is divided into three types:
(1.) a Mediterranean in the north with dry hot summers and mild wet winters with rainfall increasing from west to east.
(2.) A continental in the high plateau regions with higher daily temperatures while rainfall is patchy falling mainly within a short period.
(3.) A true desert climate in the Sahara with erratic and spasmodic rainfall.
In the summer Algeria experiences hot winds from the south known as the Chehili or Sirocco. The average temperature ranges in Algiers are from 9 to 15°C (48 to 59°F) in January to 22 to 29°C (72 to 84°F) in August.
In the Sahara Desert, temperatures range from –10° to 34°C (14° to 93°F ), with extreme highs of 49°C (120°F ). There are daily variations of more than 44°C (80°F).

Administrative division

Algeria is divided into 48 provinces (wilayas), 553 districts (dairas) and 1.541 municipalities (baladiyahs)

Major airports

Adrar: Touat-Cheikh Sidi Mohamed Belkebir Airport (AZR)
Algiers: Houari Boumediene Airport (ALG)
Annaba: Rabah Bitat Airport (AAE)
Constantine: Mohamed Boudiaf Airport (CZL)
Ghardaia: Noumerat - Moufdi Zakaria Airport (GHA)
Hassi Messaoud: Oued Irara - Krim Belkacem Airport (HME)
In Amenas: In Amenas Airport (Zarzaitine Airport) (IAM)
Oran / Es Senia: Oran Es Senia Airport (ORN)
Tamanrasset: Aguenar - Hadj Bey Akhamok Airport (TMR)
Tebessa: Cheikh Larbi Tebessi Airport (TEE)
Tlemcen: Zenata - Messali El Hadj Airport (TLM)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.